Final Video Story Project

Introduction

During my Spring 2013 semester at Washington State University, I was introduced to the Hapa Project. It is a multiracial identity project created by artist Kip Fulbeck. Hapa is a Hawaiian word meaning half, and is used to describe people of mixed ethnicity who are half-white and half-Asian and/or Pacific Islander. As a person of color, I have my own experiences of being a “minority.” However, I never considered what it is like to have a foot in both worlds—not until I watched some of Kip’s videos.

The reason I found myself drawn to Kip’s project is that my own children are 100% hapa. I chide myself for not being more aware of any problems they may have struggled with in terms of identity. I decided to use this project as an opportunity to ask them to share their thoughts and feelings about being biracial. While I have three adult children, only one was comfortable with the idea of shooting a video so the majority of my video centers around my daughter’s narrative.

The two video drafts I posted last week were very rough, unpolished, and unfinished. I struggled with editing the video every time I wanted to add something in the middle. I watched the class videos a couple more times and searched the internet for more information on how to use Adobe Premiere’s tools.

My instructor provided some excellent ideas, some of which I incorporated into my final video. The ambient music is provided by Quietly Concerned under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License. All the images shown in the video are mine and are pictures of family members–in keeping with my blog theme of ‘Ohana.

I hope you enjoy our story.

Storyboard:

Time – Segment

0:00:00 – Zoom in and open with the definition of “hapa” and music. Start introduction.

0:07:11 – Add swirl effect and begin images, adding iris box effect between each change.

0:15:04 – Begin part 2 of introduction.

0:26:19 – End intro.

0:27:03 – Begin music fade out.

0:28:26 – Add cross dissolve and begin Janelle’s narrative. Cross fade between video segments.

0:41:29 – Transition back and forth to images of Janelle with iris box and cross dissolve effects.

1:52:17 – Start transitions between Janelle’s video and images of her daughter.

2:19:16 – Begin images of other kids with iris box effects signaling each change.

2:26:08 – End Janelle’s narrative. Begin to fade music back in.

2:3:07 – Begin my narrative.

2:38:01 – Zoom in with Changing Faces text

2:40:01 – Dip to Black and fade music out

2:40:17 – The End

Leave a Reply

